Calls for Papers

Showing 19 calls for papers

Discussing Local and Community Media: Positive Experiences and Impacts on Societies

Editors: Fábio Ribeiro (University of Trás-os Montes e Alto Douro) & Luís Bonixe (Polytechnic Institute of Portalegre).

True Crime in American Media

A new edited collection on true crime in 21st century American visual and audio media invites proposals for chapters. This...

Community and Activist Media: Resistance and Resurgence

Guest Editors: Tanja Dreher (University of New South Wales), Pieter Maeseele (University of Antwerp) & Susan Forde (Griffith University).

Cultural Diversity in Internationally Coproduced High-end Drama

International coproduction, which Michelle Hilmes (2014:10) defines as “a partnership between two or more different national production entities” located in...

New Approaches in Communication Studies

Guest editors: Aslı Telli Aydemir (University of Siegen) & Ozan Çavdar (Hacettepe University).

Elections, Journalism and Artificial Intelligence

Guest editors: Domagoj Bebić (University of Zagreb), Dina Vozab (University of Zagreb) & Oscar Luengo (University of Granada).

Politicizing Agency in Digital Play After Humanism

Guest editors: Aleena Chia (Simon Fraser University) & Paolo Ruffino (University of Liverpool).

Evidence-based Science Communication in the Covid-19 Era

For science communication to be effective and inclusive, we need to understand and apply what works and why. Decades of...

Journalism on the Edge

Guest editors: Professor Sigurd Allern (University of Oslo) & Professor Mark Blach-Ørsten (Roskilde University).

Streaming Media: Production, Interfaces, Content and Users

Guest editors: Mads Møller Tommerup Andersen (Aarhus University) and Marika Lüders (University of Oslo).

Action Research for Media Development: Intersections and Boundaries of Social Change, Innovation, and Entrepreneurship

Media development as an academic field focuses on research questions spanning from technical, economic, and political issues to the social...

Comparing Digital Journalisms Across Nations and Cultures

Special issue in Digital journalism Deadline: November 1, 2020 In 2004, the landmark study by Hallinand Mancini, ‘Comparing Media Systems’,...

Woke TV: Politically Alert Television in the Trump, Blm, and Post-#metoo Era

Edited collection Deadline for submissions: November 1, 2020 full name / name of organization: Georgia Aitaki / Örebro University contact...

Media Policies in South Asia: State of the Field

Guest editors: Preeti Raghunath (Symbiosis International University) & Susan Koshy (Hong Kong Baptist University).

Science in a Time of Crisis: Communication, Engagement and the Lived Experience of the Covid-19 Pandemic

Guest editors: Dara M. Wold (Iowa State University), Ulrike Felt (University of Vienna) & Anabela Carvalho (University of Minho).

Fandom Histories

Fans demonstrate a broad interest in the past, both of their objects of fandom and their own communities. They collect,...

Transformative Activism: Feminist and Queer Imaginaries

Editors: Ayse Gül Altinay and Andrea Petö.

Synthetic Media and Synthetic Reality: From Deepfakes to Virtual Worlds

Editor: Ignas Kalpokas (Vytautas Magnus University).

Social Media and the Self-concept

Review of Communication Research Deadline: May 10, 2021 Review of Communication Research invites the submission of literature reviews and meta-analyses...